Matthew Buesnel receives the trophy from Derek Hart

James Rondel Derek Hart and Mike Ritzema =3rd

The afternoon final

Group A
5W +35 - Matthew Schofield
5W +15 - Joy Hart
4W +21 - Toby Northern
3W 0     - Paul Le Moine
2W -14  - Keith Pinel
2W -16  - Wendy Ritzema
0W -41  - Tony Lagadu
Group B
4W +15 - James Rondel
4W +3   - Neil Selby
4W 0     - Brian Harris
3W +10 - Alan Lahiffe
3W +2   - Geoffroy Buffetrille
2W -7    - Helene Retrosi
2W -17  - Stephen Leathem

Runner up Matthew Schofield and Derek Hart

JPA Singles 2016 - Report
The JPA Singles took place at the Jersey Petanque Club on Saturday 9th April 2016.

27 competitors took part and the only thing that marred the event were the heavy showers, which were not forecast.

The afternoon was sunny as can be seen from the photo below.

Matthew Buesnel is now the new JPA Singles champion!
Buesnel emerged victorious from a tricky group in which three players won four out of their five matches. 

The only match that Buesnel lost in the group was against former champion Matthew Pinel (13-12).

Buesnel’s opponent in the semi-final was James Rondel who himself won four games in his group including a 13-7 victory against 2012 champion Neil Selby.  The semi final encounter against Rondel was a closely contested affair which eventually ended with a score of 13-9 in Buesnel’s favour.

In the final Buesnel faced Matthew Schofield who emerged as the winner of a group which included last years champion Toby Northern followed by a closely contested semi-final against Mike Ritzema (13-11).

In the final both Buesnel and Schofield played well and they were clearly evenly matched with the score progressing to 6-6.  But then Buesnel seized the initiative and at 12-6 he was on the verge of winning.  Schofield rallied briefly scoring 3 points on the penultimate end but it was Buesnel who reached the crucial 13 point target first and therefore lifted the trophy for the first time.

Group C
5W +17 - Mike Ritzema
4W +3   - Penny Foster
3W +13 - Ian Foster
3W +6   - Ross Payne
3W +1   - Derek Hart
2W -24  - Lorna Limbrick
1W -17  - David Le Gresley
Group D
4W +21 - Matthew Buesnel
4W +8   - Matthew Pinel
4W +6   - Keith Boleat
2W -3    - Ellis Turmel
1W -12  - Chris Romeril
0W -21  - Andrew Limbrick